Robert Taylor

Robert Taylor

White specs FULL FACE small

How long have you been a member of EBS?
I was originally a member of EBS from January 2013 until September 2014. I re-joined in January 2016

What are your hobbies/interests?
My hobbies and interets include:

A wide range of visual arts (inc painting ,sculpture, film), automotive engineering, clothes (rudimentary fashion recycling and collecting vintage clothes), jewellery making and wearing, interior design (2 rolling projects on private homes in Oxford and central London). Offender rehabilitation and prison reform (partly via my Koestler Trust work). Travel (inc a bad NYC habit nourished at least once a year). Literature and text editing (providing on-going informal support to a well respected Oxford University based science writer.

Where do you live and where do you come from?
I live in central London near Marble Arch, and Central East Oxford. I was born in Sutton Coldfield, a dormitory/satellite town that’s now part of Birmingham.

Please tell us a little bit about your family.
My parents were both Jamaicans who met and married in the UK. They were mildly eccentric, very stylish and gregarious characters – in their very different ways –  who were very much of the “When in Rome …” frame of mind about life in England. Dad was a van/lorry driver, highly intelligent but not particularly well educated. His self expression and satisfaction came from sport (he was a champion athlete) and the racing and breeding of greyhounds. I was obliged to help him with the greyhounds. I too was a champion athlete (grudgingly) until about 14 when I found the courage to escape his realm. Mum was a nurse, very well educated, sensitive warm, funny, and generally very much more on my ‘wave length’. They’ve been phenomenal parents in their very different ways. I have one younger sister who is a funny and ferociously loyal mate. The EBS experience has nurtured new possibilities for my social and work life well beyond the expected for this previously committed non-joiner of things.

I’m married to my partner of the last 21 years, Tristram, an Oxford university based zoologist and science writer.

Our Club Mission
To provide a mutually supportive and positive learning environment to foster self-confidence and personal growth where every member can develop communication and leadership skills. Join Us!